Coconut Oil Mayonnaise? Oh noes…

Today I found yet another recipe on the ‘net for homemade mayonnaise. The perfect mayonnaise recipe is my Holy Grail. I’ve yet to find one that satisfies my criteria for ‘mayonnaise,’ and this one was no exception. This image is far more idyllic than what just happened in my kitchen.

When I first read the recipe through, I thought, “Coconut oil? No way, coconut oil tastes too much like coconut. That would be awful in tuna salad/chicken salad/egg salad/anything else I can think of that you put mayo on.” But I thought, well, at least it’s something new in the homemade mayonnaise world, and what the heck, maybe it will surprise me and maybe…maybe…it will taste amazing.

It did not. It tasted like coconut with eggs and vinegar, and the strong coconut taste made for…interesting tuna salad, if by “interesting” what I really mean is “tossed in the trash.” (I didn’t; I rarely throw out food, even if a recipe fails. I ate it with grim, steely-eyed determination.)

It was also very soupy, as all my homemade mayos are; I don’t know if this is how homemade mayo simply is, or if I am missing some crucial concept in mayonnaise making, some twist of the wrist, some knack that can only be picked up by years of apprenticeship under a Grand Mayo Meister.

I reduced the coconut oil to 1/2 cup (and it was still too nutty), and used 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil and 1/4 cup avocado oil. (O avocado oil! Where have you been all my life? How I would have loved you had we met when I was younger!) I also ended up putting in two extra eggs after tasting, because the vinegar was INTENSE and needed diluting. If I did it again, I’d lessen the vinegar and sub some of it out for lemon juice. Also, I cut the salt in half and it was still pretty salty (I don’t generally salt food, though, so my salt threshold is l-o-w.)

Here is the recipe. If you try this at home (which I do not recommend, bleah, yuck, etc.), and you make adjustments that make the mayo come out more like mayo and less like liquid regret, drop a comment and let me know how you did it!

Homemade Coconut Oil Mayonnaise:

1 egg
4 tbsp cider vinegar
1/2-tsp salt
1/2-tsp dry mustard

Add the above ingredients to your blender. Then very slowly dribble into blender one cup of oil consisting of about 3/4-cup coconut oil (melted and cooled) plus 1/4-cup extra virgin olive oil to the blender and blend till smooth. (The more coconut oil, the thicker the dressing). (If oil added too fast, or oil is too hot, mixture will curdle).

Good luck!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Coconut Oil Mayonnaise? Oh noes…

  1. Pingback: A Little Link: Foods High in Omega-6 | Cleaning My Plate

  2. Jan says:

    I’ve made mayo from light olive oil and it’s a pretty good fix for me! I made chicken salad with it and it was fabulous! I’ve used it in several other recipes and been quite pleased with it. I’ve also heard bacon grease makes a nice mayo…I have yet to try it though. You can see my mayo recipe here if you want : http://coastalcavegirl.com/2011/07/01/recipe-perfect-paleo-mayo/

    • Hi Jan! Always good to see a fellow cavegirl. Thank you so very much for the recipe link — I will give it a shot. I’d been shy of trying olive oil because of the strong flavor (tho coconut oil was hardly the way to go if I was looking for less overpowering flavor!) — I bet the light olive you suggest would do the trick over extra virgin.

      I like your blog! Very cool and love the writing style. Glad you dropped in. 🙂

Leave a Reply

